The Foo Fighters will release a new album this fall.

The album will coincide with Dave Grohl's new HBO TV series.  The show will document the Foo Fighters' sessions in eight cities: Chicago, Austin, Nashville, Los Angeles, Seattle, New Orleans, Washington, DC and New York.

Each track will feature a local legend from the town in which the song was recorded.

The lyrics were written in "an unprecedented experimental style."  Grohl "held off putting down words until the last day of each session, so as to be inspired by the experiences, interviews and personalities that became part of the process."

A press release adds:

"Each episode delves into the singular regional identity of each city-how each region shaped these musicians in their formative years, and in turn the impact those people had on the cultural fabric of their hometowns-ultimately celebrating their common bond: Every artist that appears in the show, regardless of genre or locale, started as an average kid with the universal dreams of making music and making it big.”